Clayton to Host One-Stop Event for Emergency Rental Assistance Read More

Clayton County, Georgia Home
Where the World Lands and Opportunities Take Off slogan and airplane

Clayton to Host One-Stop Event for Emergency Rental Assistance Read More

Clayton County, Georgia Home

Clerk of Court:
Jacquline D. Wills

Harold R. Banke Justice Center
9151 Tara Boulevard
Room 1CL25
Jonesboro, GA 30236-4912

Phone: (770) 477-3395

Continuing Garnishment Procedures

Please refer to O.C.G.A. §18-4-1 to 18-4-89 for a complete explanation of Continuing Garnishment Procedures.

Forms

Filing Fees

Garnishments are $100.00 if the Clayton County Sheriff’s Office is to serve only the Garnishee. Garnishments are $150.00 if the Defendant and the Garnishee are both to be served by Clayton County Sheriff’s Office. (Include a completed Sheriff’s Entry of Service form for each party to be served.)

The Service copy of the Garnishment for the Defendant will be returned to the Plaintiff or the Attorney for the Plaintiff unless the Deputy Sheriff is to serve the defendant. A self-addressed, stamped envelope is required for this purpose.

Garnishment Funds

Monies being held on garnishments may be disbursed by submitting an application to condemn the funds. The Clerk’s office must be provided with proof of service on Defendant (including case number) by: Certified Mail (Either the returned receipt card or the unclaimed letter which was mailed to the Defendant), Affidavit of Compliance, or Certification of Personal Service by Deputy Sheriff, Attorney, Plaintiff or Agent per O.C.G.A. §18-4-3. No money will be disbursed unless the foregoing procedures are completed in their entirety. Monies are held for 20 days before disbursing.

The office of the Clerk of Magistrate Court is an administrative office charged with the duties of receiving and filing papers required to be filed with the Clerk and collecting required filing fees. In many cases, collecting a judgment is harder than proving your case in court. You should consult an attorney or a collection agency if you have questions. No employee of this office is qualified or licensed to practice law. State law forbids any person other than a duly licensed attorney at law to render or furnish legal services or advice. Therefore, no one in this office will be able to guide you through the process.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.