JEFFREY E. TURNER
CHAIRMAN
DEMONT DAVIS
VICE-CHAIR
SONNA GREGORY
COMMISSIONER
GAIL B. HAMBRICK
COMMISSIONER
FELICIA FRANKLIN WARNER
COMMISSIONER



Communications Administrator Valerie L. Fuller

OFFICE OF COMMUNICATIONS 121 SOUTH MCDONOUGH STREET JONESBORO, GEORGIA 30236 PHONE: (770) 473-3834 www.claytoncountyga.gov

For Immediate Release March 14, 2020

NEWS RELEASE

Presidential Preference Primary Postponed Until General Primary Election

(**Jonesboro**, **GA**)-Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger postpones Georgia's Democratic Presidential Preference Primary (PPP), effective immediately, due to the public health emergency posed by the Coronavirus (COVID-19) to help reduce the risk for potential contamination for voters and poll workers.

Clayton County residents who *did not* cast a ballot in the PPP during the advanced voting period will have a chance to vote for the PPP during the General Primary Election, which will be held on Tuesday, May 19, 2020. Ballots that have already been cast for the PPP will be counted in the General Primary Election.

For more information, access the <u>Clayton County Elections & Registration</u> website, https://www.claytoncountyga.gov/government/elections-and-registration, or the Georgia Secretary of State website: https://sos.ga.gov/.

###