SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY MINUTES

Solid Waste Management Authority Board Meeting

January 28, 2020

PRESENT: Chairman Jeffrey E. Turner (SWMA Member), Robb Leatherwood (SWMA Member), Captain Sean MacDonald (SWMA Member) Edie Yongue (SWMA Member) Terry Baskin and (SWMA Member) Mary Carp. Commissioner Demont Davis was absent. Also present were Jeff Metarko (Director of Transportation and Development), Nathan Parrott (Landfill Manager), Josh Lawson with Jacobs Engineering, and Brenda James (County Clerk).

I. CALL MEETING TO ORDER:

Chairman Turner called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

II. ADOPTION OF OCTOBER 29, 2019 MEETING MINUTES:

Chairman Turner entertained a motion to adopt the August 27, 2019 Meeting Minutes. Motion made by Terry Baskin and seconded by Mary Ann Carp to approve the minutes. The motion carried unanimously.

III. TRANSFER STATION:

Jeff Metarko gave a report and said it was a continuation of the last meeting. He further said the main issue right now is the location. He spoke on the following properties.

- 1) Property at Grant Road /Hwy42 and said it is 16 plus acres and zoned H1.
- 2) Property at Williams and Grant and said it is under 12 acres.
- 3) Property at Ft. Gilliam Area 20.54 acres
- 4) Property at Forest Park Way near Quick Trip 2733 and it is 8 acres and owned by J. Scott, The problem will be trucks in and out.

Terry Baskin made a motion to do further investigation on the property at 2733 Forest Park Way including the frontage on QT Way. Mary Carp provided the second and the motion passed unanimously. Ms. Dees will reach out to the owners.

IV. KEEP CLAYTON BEAUTIFUL STATUS:

Chairman Turner introduced Lexie Morgan the Director of Keep Clayton Beautiful.

V. <u>OPEN DISCUSSION:</u>

It was discussed that the next meeting would be set later.

VI. PUBLIC COMMENT:

Mr. Mickey Garber was present and had a few words regarding the pickup of trash

VII. ADJOURN:

Mr. Terry Baskin made a motion to adjourn the meeting with Chairman Turner providing the second at 10:52am. The motion carried unanimously.

Brenda B. James County Clerk