In compliance with the Order Declaring Judicial Emergency issued by Clayton County Chief Superior Court Judge Geronda Carter March 13, 2020, both of these orders were later amended, the following is in effect for The Probate Court of Clayton County up to and including April 3, 2020.
The Probate Court is still performing essential functions; these include but are not limited to:
- Orders to apprehend (1013);
- Involuntary Treatment cases;
- Emergency Adult Guardianship/Conservatorship matters;
- Permanent Adult Guardianships/Conservators;
- Minor Guardianships;
- Marriage Licenses;
- Other Emergency Petitions.
If you have one of these issues or questions please contact Chief Clerk Cindy Jackson 678-492-3416.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause; however, these practices are in place to protect the public at large and to do our part to minimize the transmission of Coronavirus/COVID-19.
Coronavirus Update Regarding Probate Court
Order Declaring Judicial Emergency (PDF)
Second Order Declaring Judicial Emergency (PDF)
Order Regarding All Hearings During Judicial Emergency (PDF)
Order Regarding Judicial Emergency (PDF)
Weapons Carry License Information Sheet
Regarding Chief Justice Melton’s Statewide Judicial Emergency Order dated March 14, 2020
Probate courts across the state of Georgia will temporarily suspend acceptance of applications for Weapons Carry Licenses and Renewal Weapons Carry Licenses pursuant to an Order of the Supreme Court of Georgia declaring a Judicial Emergency. That Order may be found at https://www.gasupreme.us/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/CJ-Melton-amended-Statewide-Jud-Emergency-order.pdf
If you are due to renew during the Emergency period, your license will not expire. Chief Justice Melton’s Order essentially pushes “PAUSE” on all deadlines created by law or rule. Therefore, you will still be able to renew after the Emergency ends. Presently, that date is April 14, 2020. If that date is extended, further order will issue.
To give you a concrete example of how this will work, simply add 30 days to whatever your expiration or renewal deadline is. A license expiring March 18, 2020, will expire April 17, 2020. The renewal deadline will extend to May 17, 2020.
We thank you for your patience in this unusual time. If you have further questions, please call the court and we will be glad to help you.
121 South McDonough St.
Jonesboro, Ga 30236
Notice: Effective immediately, the Clayton County Probate Court cannot accept any bills larger than $50.00.
Please Note: Applications for weapons carry licenses, marriage licenses and petitions for temporary guardianships of minors are NOT accepted after 3:30 PM.
For the safety and protection of all, the Clayton County Courthouse is a secured facility. All persons entering the Courthouse, including Annex 3, and all packages, purses, briefcases and containers brought into the Courthouse and Annex 3 are subject to being searched. Members of the public entering these buildings must pass through a metal detector. Firearms are prohibited in any Clayton County Court; members of the public, even if licensed to carry a firearm, should not bring a firearm into the Courthouse, a public building. Law enforcement officers on official duty must check their firearms with Security upon entering the building.
**For Weddings CLICK HERE