Clayton County, Georgia Home
Where the World Lands and Opportunities Take Off slogan and airplane

Clayton County, Georgia Home

Chief Magistrate Court Judge:
Keisha Wright Hill

Harold R. Banke Justice Center
9151 Tara Boulevard
Jonesboro, GA 30236

Phone: (770) 477-3444
Fax: (770) 473-5750

For information regarding your case, please contact the Clerk’s Office at (770) 477-3443

Excluding Holidays

Presiding Judge Sonyja George

Judge George began her legal career as an attorney with Cobb County Juvenile Court, where she served for 7 years as a Juvenile Defense Attorney, representing juveniles charged with delinquent acts as well as parents involved in child abuse and neglect cases.  In addition to working with Juvenile Court, Judge George started the Law Offices of Sonyja J. George P.C., a full service law firm handling a wide variety of Civil and Criminal Defense matters.  She later went on to serve as a Special Assistant Attorney General Associate, representing The Department of Family and Children Services.

Judge George began her career with Clayton County Magistrate Court as a part-time Judge and shortly thereafter was promoted to a full-time position. She serves as a part-time Adjunct Professor with Georgia State University.  In addition to her professional obligations, Judge George devotes her time to Community and Bar-related activities.  She frequently serves as a Career Day Speaker for various schools, and Mock Trial Volunteer Judge. Judge George is a member of the Georgia State Bar Association, Clayton County Bar Association, Gate City Bar Association (Judicial Section), and Georgia Association of Black Women Attorneys (Mentor).  Judge George is a recipient of the 2019 Georgia State University Alumni 40 under 40 award. She is a 2020 graduate of the Judicial and Public Office Academy. When not working, Judge George enjoys spending time with her family, and serving as a mentor and volunteer with her church.

Judge George received her Bachelor of Science from Georgia State University and her Juris Doctor from John Marshall Law School.