Director Patrick Ejike Director:
Patrick Ejike

Interim Zoning Administrator:
Madolyn Spann | Email

Main Office: 
Phone: (770) 473-5401

P.K. Dixon Building
Annex 2
121 South McDonough St.
Jonesboro, GA 30236

Operating Hours:
Monday – Friday:
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Phone: (770) 477-3569


New Office Hours

8:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.

Effective January 22, 2019


Beginning on  November 27, 2018, you are now able to access our NEW on-line Customer Service Portal to apply for  ZONING REQUESTS, PERMITS, AND LICENSES

 The portal will allow you to:

  • Apply
  • Manage 
  • Track your application status, and
  • Schedule Inspections

All customers MUST create a NEW USER ACCOUNT using a VALID EMAIL ADDRESS.  Guests and visitors can browse without setting up an account.

 "Citizen Self Service Portal Registration Instructions"


The mission of the Office of Planning, Zoning, and Sustainability is to guide land development, support quality economic development, and promote sustainable communities. We commit that our service is consistent with the highest public standards for health, safety, livability, and general welfare of the Clayton County community. We aim to deliver sound planning services that are fair, efficient, effective, and cooperative with residents, businesses, and neighboring jurisdictions.


The Office of Planning, Zoning, and Sustainability is passionate about the progress of Clayton County and we pride ourselves on being the community’s “Concierge of the Built Environment.” Our customers communicate with us their goals, and it is our job to assist them while upholding the highest quality standards that aim to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the greater community as a whole.

Our Functions



Site Development


Code Compliance


The Office of Planning, Zoning, & Sustainability Implements the Following Ordinances:

  • Zoning Ordinance
  • Subdivision Ordinance
  • Sign Ordinance
  • Tree Protection Ordinance


Resolutions and Ordinances


Staff Contact Information:

Madolyn Spann Zoning Administrator
Marlene Russell Administrative Assistant 
Linda Willis Planning & Zoning Specialist 
Tyler McSwain Senior Planner 
Nahomie Lagardere Planner II
Gerod Green Zoning Code Enforcement Officer