Site Map  |  About  |  Contact Us  |  Calendar
Text Size
Increase Font Size
Decrease Font Size


Jeffrey E. Turner

Jeff TurnerJeffrey E. Turner, the son of Eddie and Classie Turner, was born in December 1963 and moved to Clayton County with his family in 1978. He attended Morrow High School, graduated in 1982, and went on to attend the State College of West Georgia (now West Georgia University) where he earned his Bachelors of Science degree in Criminal Justice in 1986. Jeff Turner earned his Master's Degree in Public Administration from Georgia Law Enforcement Command College at Columbus State University.

Chairman Turner began his career with Clayton County as a patrolman in April 1987 with the Clayton County Police Department. As a new hire, he was one of only four African-American officers on the police force. Following 20 years of loyal service to Clayton County, Jeffrey E. Turner was appointed as the first African-American Chief of the Clayton County Police Department on March 20, 2007. As Chief of Police, Jeff Turner implemented Community Policing policies and activated programs such as Neighborhood Watch, SMASH, along with other initiatives. During Chairman Turner's tenure as Clayton County Chief of Police, he initiated and gained National Accreditation for the Clayton County Police Department. Chairman Turner is a graduate of the 217th Session of the F.B.I. National Academy.

Chairman Turner's dedication to the citizens and businesses of Clayton County is the reason he devotes such a substantial amount of his time and effort to enable cooperation and interaction between the community at large and all Clayton County government and law enforcement. It is Jeff Turner's belief that we all play a special role in building a better future and quality of life for every citizen in every community.

Chairman Turner is married with four children and attends Greater Works Missionary Baptist Church in Forest Park. Inaugurated as Chairman of the Clayton County Board of Commissioners on December 22, 2012, Jeffrey E. Turner serves, with distinction, as Clayton County's Chief Elected Official.

2015 State of the County Address


Chairman: Jeffrey E. Turner
Clayton County Administration
112 Smith Street, Annex 1
Jonesboro, GA 30236
Phone: (770) 477-3208
Fax: (770) 477-3217

Executive Assistant to Chairman:
Beverly M. McMichen
Phone: (770) 472-8122

Administration Building


State of the County 20142015 State of the County Address

Download State of the County Address
to Personal Dropbox
(Click on 'Download', then 'No Thanks, Continue to Download', if you DO NOT wish to open a Dropbox Account)