Site Map  |  About  |  Contact Us  |  Calendar
Text Size
Increase Font Size
Decrease Font Size
Print

Investigation Division


Chief Investigator

Paul P. Garland
Chief Investigator
paul.garland@claytoncountyga.gov

 

The Chief Investigator is responsible for the overall day-to-day supervision of the Criminal Investigators employed by the District Attorney.  All District Attorney Investigators are POST certified peace officers.  Some of their duties include: locating victims and witnesses, conducting interviews, serving subpoenas, and testifying in court proceedings and preparing cases for indictment.


TRIAL TEAM UNITS
INDICTMENT | MAJOR CASE | CRIMES AGAINST WOMEN AND CHILDREN | JUVENILE DIVISIONS

Allen Crenshaw
Deputy Chief Investigator
allen.crenshaw@claytoncountyga.gov

Judge Deborah Benefield
Judge Matthew Simmons

 

Indictment Division

Richard Lee
Investigator
richard.lee@claytoncountyga.gov

Tyrone Walls
Investigator
tyrone.walls@claytoncountyga.gov

James Windon
Investigator
james.windon@claytoncountyga.gov

John Gosart
Investigator   
john.gosart@claytoncountyga.gov

Garland Watkins
Investigator
garland.watkins@claytoncountyga.gov

 

Major Case Division

Steve Maddox,
Major Case Investigator
steve.maddox@claytoncountyga.gov

Brian Busch
Major Case Investigator

brian.busch@claytoncountyga.gov

Steve Payne
Deputy Chief Investigator
steve.payne@claytoncountyga.gov

Judge Geronda Carter
Judge Albert Collier

 

Indictment Division

Rodney Boles
Investigator     
rodney.boles@claytoncountyga.gov

Todd Murphy
Investigator
todd.murphy@claytoncountyga.gov

Toni Thomas
Investigator
toni.thomas@claytoncountyga.gov

Tony Robinson
Investigator         
tony.robinson@claytoncountyga.gov 

Pat Ponder
Investigator
pat.ponder@claytoncountyga.gov

 

Major Case Division

Chuck Blissitt
Major Case Investigator
chuck.blissitt@claytoncountyga.gov

 

Crimes Against Women and Children Division

Steve Payne
Deputy Chief Investigator
steve.payne@claytoncountyga.gov

Kimberly Arnzen
Investigator
kimberly.arnzen@claytoncountyga.gov

Pat Ponder
Investigator
pat.ponder@claytoncountyga.gov

Todd Murphy
Investigator
todd.murphy@claytoncountyga.gov

 

Juvenile Court Division

Ponda Maine
Investigator
ponda.maine@claytoncountyga.gov

 

Support Staff

Carol Bridwell
Investigator Aide
carol.bridwell@claytoncountyga.gov

 

Indictment Division Investigators are responsible for preparing cases bound over after the preliminary hearing to the point of filing an accusation or indictment.  The assigned Investigator gathers documentation to support the criminal activity described in the criminal warrant or warrantless arrest affidavit.  This documentation includes police incident reports, accident reports, bank records, telephone records, medical records, victim/witness statements, photographic line-ups, restitution information, criminal history and driving history information on the defendants.  The case is then prepared for approval by an Assistant District Attorney.

Major Case Division Investigators are responsible for working major felony and high profile cases.  These Investigators follow their cases through the entire criminal justice process.  The cases handled by the Major Case Division include murder, vehicular homicide, involved financial crimes, and other complicated high profile, politically sensitive cases. The case is then prepared for approval by an Assistant District Attorney.


The Crimes Against Women and Children Unit's Investigators are responsible for preparing cases for indictment or accusation that have been bound over by the Magistrate Court to the Superior Court. The assigned investigator gathers all documentation to support the criminal charges. The case is then prepared for approval by an Assistant District Attorney.

The Juvenile Court Investigator is responsible for working cases up from intake to adjudication at the Juvenile Court level.  This investigator gathers documentation to support the delinquent activity described in the juvenile petition.  This documentation includes police incident reports, accident reports, victim/witness statements, restitution information, juvenile history and driving history information on the accused.  This investigator must pick up evidence when needed for court, as well as serve subpoenas on the people involved in the court action.  In addition to working with police agencies, this investigator also assists Juvenile Court officers with juvenile complaints filed by citizens.



 

 

District Attorney: Tracy Graham Lawson
Harold R. Banke Justice Center
9151 Tara Boulevard
4th Floor
Jonesboro, GA 30236
Phone: (770) 477-3450
Fax: (770) 477-4577